My Daily Prompt Blog

Where I do my Daily Prompts

Daily Prompt: How much info is too much?

Leave a comment


Should You Let the Cats Out of the Bag? Blogging About Family and Friends

let-the-cat-out-the-bag

Here are a few suggestions that the Daily Prompt gave to use before you put yourself and your family out there into public viewing.  It may not be what you say but what someone else shares and comments on after that actually does the damage to the family relationship.

  • What if it were me? If you were reading your closest friend’s blog and saw a similar story about you — perhaps something you hadn’t shared with others yet — how would you feel? (What’s that; your closest friend doesn’t have a blog? Why not?)
  • If I were telling this story to a group of people, would I share these details? Picture the real-life equivalent of your blog readers: you’re at a party talking to a group of people, some you know well, some less so, some not at all. You’re telling the story. Are you okay with those to whom you’re less connected hearing it?
  • Am I talking about children? My children? They’re not in the same position to assert themselves and ask not to be mentioned; that goes double for other people’s children.
  • You’re browsing Facebook and see that someone’s shared the post with less-than-positive commentary; how do you feel? Do any protective instincts kick in? Blogging isn’t just about what you share, but how others run with that. Are you comfortable if someone takes the story and sprints in the other direction?
  • If a prospective employer or partner found the story, would reading it hurt your friend’s chances? This is unlikely, especially since you’re probably not using your friend’s full name with loads of identifying details; the underlying question is whether the story puts your loved one in any kind of compromised position. Whether or not they’re identifiable, it’s probably not ideal.

Lots of stories are fine to tell — the hilarious story about the UPS mixup your cousin told you at Thanksgiving probably doesn’t impact anyone, except maybe the UPS man. In other cases, it’s worth thinking through the what-ifs.

These ideas really sounded like a great foundation to keep peace and with the Holidays coming up and silly things possibly happening around the table perhaps this will stop a war in 2014.

If you are not sure if it will not keep peace in the family, here is my advice to you…

Some things in life are worth biting your lip and keeping it zipped.  Unconventional love does not always mean what we think.

Would love to hear your thoughts on this matter….leave me a comment and let me know what you think about this subject…

Do you agree or do you feel differently and why?

I am listening…

Tammye Honey

Author: TammyeHoney

I am about Blogging various information. If you check, I have several sites. Everything from food to funny with a few product lines in between. I am a Daily Prompt Blogger and an A-Z prompt blogger as well. Thank you for checking out my site. I hope you enjoy. I started this for cooking and my corn allergy and then it grew...

Leave a Reply

