My Daily Prompt Blog

Where I do my Daily Prompts

A Call From My Hubby’s Nephew

6 Comments


My hubby has a special nephew.
He can be a bit overwhelming at times.
He is now in his thirties.  He lives with his mom and grandparents.
My hubby says that I am funny when I deal with him.
I insist that he uses respect.
His family says that he can’t remember from day to day.
I disagree.
It is funny that he can now remember that when I answer the phone, the only way he can speak with his uncle is to call him by Uncle, not his first name.
When I answer, he knows that if he does not, he will not talk to him.

Today he called with the request for me to look up a word and give him the definition.
The word was does.
Forty five minutes later, I hung up the telephone knowing that he finally understood the meaning.

clock ticking

I took the time with him, using the word in sentences.
I also got across the point of various tenses, pronouns and verbs associated that were confusing him.
I did not have to do this.
I could have just hung up the phone after I told him his uncle was sleeping.

phone

It did not take away from my day at all to spend the 45 minutes with him.
He was happy when he hung up.
He was no longer aggrivated like he had been when he first called.
I never asked why he needed to know.
I decided that the can of worms that had brought on the frustration just needed to be calmed.

By his being satisfied with the answer, his day will now be better.
He will have a calmer day.

smiley face
In turn, so will the others who live with him.
Why this could not have been done on his end remains a mystery.

critical eye
Perhaps a dictionary for Christmas will be a nice gift.

mwol2010_mw_logo_header

 

 

 

Sometimes all a person needs in life is to know that somewhere they have a friend who will listen…

Thank you for reading,

Tammye Honey

Author: TammyeHoney

I am about Blogging various information. If you check, I have several sites. Everything from food to funny with a few product lines in between. I am a Daily Prompt Blogger and an A-Z prompt blogger as well. Thank you for checking out my site. I hope you enjoy. I started this for cooking and my corn allergy and then it grew...

6 thoughts on “A Call From My Hubby’s Nephew

  1. A kind word or action can change some else life forever!

  2. You have a lot of patience.

  3. This is so true and in this fast moving life…it is hard to find a friend who has the time and the patience to listen, just listen….

Leave a Reply

