My Daily Prompt Blog

Where I do my Daily Prompts

Tossing This To My Readers…Is This Fair?

9 Comments


Principal issues statement after sending Calgary boy who tackled knife-wielder home

Principal issues statement after sending Calgary boy who tackled knife-wielder home

BRIAR WAS PUNISHED AT HIS SCHOOL, SIR JOHN A. MACDONALD FOR STEPPING IN A AND HELPING ANOTHER STUDENT FROM BEING STABBED TUESDAY MORNING

Credits: DARREN MAKOWICHUK/QMI AGENCY

 

CALGARY — The principal of a Calgary school where one student broke up a fight that could’ve turned into a stabbing has made a statement to parents.

On May 28, Briar MacLean, 13, a Grade 7 student at Sir John A. Macdonald school, opted for action instead of running in search of a teacher when a student pulled a knife during a fight.

After tackling the student, MacLean was sent to the school office, then home.

His mom, Leah O’Donnell, took exception to her boy being made to feel like he was in trouble, and QMI Agency readers shared that sentiment.

The school and Calgary Board of Education didn’t comment until Friday, in a letter to parents on the school’s website.

“The student who reportedly intervened was asked to remain in the office to explain what happened but was in no way disciplined,” school principal Michael Bester wrote.

“Two students were suspended as a result of their behaviour in this incident.

“It is not recommended that students intervene in incidents such as this to ensure their own safety. There was a teacher nearby who could have been asked to assist before the third student became involved.”

O’Donnell maintained MacLean was sternly lectured for “playing the hero.”

O’Donnell is still proud of her boy’s decision to step in. Weapon or no weapon, assault is assault, she said.

“If someone were punching me in the face, I’d want somebody to stop them,” she said.

I toss this out to my readers to see what your opinion of this situation is.  Do you feel that this was handled correctly?
Did the student step over his bounds?
Should he have been suspended for his actions due to the circumstances of his reactions?
Would love to hear your reactions so leave me a comment.
Tammye Honey
Author: TammyeHoney

I am about Blogging various information. If you check, I have several sites. Everything from food to funny with a few product lines in between. I am a Daily Prompt Blogger and an A-Z prompt blogger as well. Thank you for checking out my site. I hope you enjoy. I started this for cooking and my corn allergy and then it grew...

9 thoughts on “Tossing This To My Readers…Is This Fair?

  1. I think the kid was bloody brave to think like that. In the seconds it took to call the teacher, the knife could have been buried in the kidneys. He was a real hero and he was sent home for it???? If anyone should be suspended it should be the bloody principal.

    I do understand that they had to tell him not to step in, but not sending him home making him seem like he was being punished for it

  2. i strongly disagree that it was even necessary to tell him that he shouldn’t have stepped in. He should have been commended. By the time a teacher was called, a stabbing could well have happened. It is this attitude of ‘not getting involved’ that provides such an easy life for criminals, wife-beaters and the like.

Leave a Reply

