My Daily Prompt Blog

Where I do my Daily Prompts

Road Trip A-Z Challenge Day 6

7 Comments


Post A-to-Z Road Trip [2013]

 

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/2013/05/want-to-join-us-for-ultimate-road-trip.html
http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/2012-to-z-challenge-sign-up-list.html

So excited to start the journey today to tell you about an awesome site that found me…

http://homecomingvets.com/

About

 

This blog is dedicated to Canada’s homecoming vets and their families.

People forget that soldiers returning home are not the only victims of the wars they’ve fought. So are their loved ones, families and friends. They need as much social assistance as the soldiers themselves. Those coming home are forever changed. They have experienced things the rest of us can’t imagine. They carry this psychological burden for the rest of their lives.

After eight years of fighting in Afghanistan, the public needs to get behind our vets and demand the social services they deserve and need. This is the most important tribute we can give our returning vets for the sacrifices they’ve made on behalf of our country.

Our next stop on the road trip is to a different type of blog that I really love a DIY spot.

http://diaryofamadcrafter.wordpress.com

I’m an avid crafter, and I love cooking and baking. I’m a nail technician and a salesassociate at Michael’s Art’s & Crafts (where I spend my entire paycheck before I get it each week). When I’m not working, I’m crafting and spending time with my husband and our pupperoni, Roscoe. I made my first shirt when I was 5 years old on my little, yellow, plastic sewing machine. I have my Mom to thank for that! I always remember crafting with her since before I can remember. When I was about 20, I became a vegan and started cooking up a storm, because if you’re a vegan, you better learn to cook! I started off with the Boca burgers and all that processed stuff, and realized that although it was vegan, wasn’t too healthy. Enter The Natural Gourmet Institute. GREAT experience, but I’d NEVER do it again….I had a 2 hour commute every morning and evening, and once I started my internship at Pure Food and Wine, I would be in the city ALL day and then come home, pass out and wake up to do it all over again. On my weekends, I’d have my nail clients, leaving me with no time to do anything! After school, I began working at Pure Food and Wine, in which I still had a pretty sucky commute, but LOVED the job. After I left Pure, I pretty much enjoyed having about half a year doing NOTHING, and then began working at Michaels. Two months after I started there, my husband proposed to me, and alllll the stressfulness of planning a wedding left me with no time, or energy to cook, or craft. FINALLY, about 5 months after the wedding, I’m back!! It took way too long, but I’m LOVING it.

So anyyyways, I started this blog because whenever I’d post something on Pinterest, I’d have to try to describe how I made it in as little words as possible in a little comment box….obnoxious. So now that I have a blog (which everyone on my Facebook prompted me to create after my endless picture posts of what I created throughout the day) and I can finally share with everyone what I’ve made, and help them create it too! Because there is nothing in the world I love more than getting someone as excited as I do about making something your own! Pretty much everything that I’ve been making lately has been inspired by Pinterest; in my opinion, the best invention EVER.

Be sure to like her on Face Book while you are there too…

Next stop is for a great place to find a good laugh or two…

http://imagesonconcretewordsonpaper.wordpress.com

just as the title says this blog is about words, images, solid, statements, foundations, what goes on paper, what is on the ground, growth, and whatever the blogger

SAMSUNG

part of my family knows about a terrifying moment of my life when I was finding myself as a teen. I was routinely use for sexual purposes by a man who at first I thought was a friend, I could trust. He took me to a place an apartment suite in the west end of Edmonton. A suite he had access to which became a part of my dirty secret for over 3 years. He even took me to his home and had on the bed he shared with his wife, I felt evil I hate myself for not saying anything at the time.
He gave me money and made sex into means of gaining favour from others. I was confused and hurt.
I had come out of the Glenrose School Hospital for sick children’s, 3rd floor mental health ward for children. I was not behaving like a boy, more like a female. I love sewing, cooking, flowers, crafts, etc. I was told that I could not do those things and put in a workshop to do so called ‘boys’ stuff. I was so confused and struggled with the fact that I was called a fag or sissy yet confused, I liked others boys I wanted to be housewife one day. The sexual things started as I was beginning to come out of the hospital at a family gathering, a engagement party with both families of my brother and sister-in-law. He tickled me, he fed me grapes made me feel, confused. He confused me.
I held that into myself from my family and friends until I was thirty some. Most of my family believed me and accepted me except the man’s side of our family, my brother. It hurt me to share it. I was treated like I did an evil thing.
When I was in my forty’s I struggle for the last time with being in the body. I had tried prayer, religion, spirituality, and more religion, you get the picture. Then I decided to transition to have Gender Reassignment Surgery to bring my body to meet my mind and soul of a woman. In January 2009 my body match with my mind and soul. I am now a female.
Weird, that some members of my family decided to agree with my brother and say I was the liar.
I was not always honesty or truthful, I hide my desire to be a woman, even made statements against it. Yet always finding the woman the female inside of me.
I have been very alone. Very little acceptance by my family or even attempts of getting to know the female I have become. My friends I could understand but my family, not all a few of my nephews have talked to me and keep in touch with me, a few hellos from some.
I would love to go to family events. Yet from a few contacts early in my transition to weddings, felt like my family was uncomfortable with me.
I just feel like a outcast the black evil,….
I live a moral life, in that I care about others. I am more of a humanist then a Christian, actually more of a agnostic or atheist if you want a title.
I am though Axcella the daughter of Peter and Ruth. I am related to my the sons and daughter of Peter and Ruth.
This is written as a result of watching the movie, “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” check it out if you want.
This was what was on my mind.

Our next visit is to http://atomickaleidoscope.wordpress.com/

A succinct and eclectic Electronics Engineer by profession although I preferred to teach as a passion. In this journey called life all i can say is : C’EST LA VIE ! CHEERS!

Since these sites are so full of information to check out for you I will only visit one more today so that you do not spend the entire day lost in information.

http://teepee12.com/

 

SERENDIPITY

A friend told me she never knows what I’m going to write about, so it’s always a surprise. That makes at least two of us. Until my little lightbulb goes off, I don’t know what I’m going to say either. I have a lot of varied interests: history, photography, philosophy, religion, politics, ecology, technology. I’m a bit of a geek and I do enjoy my toys. Serendipity is appropriate, I guess. Grab bag would work too.

I try to be on the right side of issues. I do my best to align with the righteous on the side of justice, kindness, and giving everyone the benefit of a doubt. I don’t always live up to my own best self, but I try. You are welcome here and I ask only that you don’t insult anyone, not me or anyone who comments here. I reserve the right to delete or edit your comments. Sometimes I delete comments because they’re too long. Extended interchanges are better done in private email. I prefer not to have essays in comments. You are welcome to email me directly at fivedawgz@gmail.com. I find it awkward when a comment exceeds the length of the original post.

Did I mention that I love dogs? And photography? Words? I am perhaps excessively fond of cleverness and clever people. Plays on words make me giggle. My favorite piece of music is Beethoven’s 6th Symphony. Which doesn’t mean I don’t love country music, folk music, some very hard rock … I’m nothing if not eclectic.

As far as participating on this site, civility counts. Please be nice. We can be civil, even if we are not of the same mind.

This is not a public forum. For good or ill, democracy does not prevail here. If you want a fight, you can’t have it  here. I don’t want this site to be a battleground, nor do I want long disputes. There’s more than enough of that on social media sites. Therefore, on my site, when I say the conversation is over when I’ve had enough.

I write about everything and nothing. Sometimes I’m current, sometimes I wander off into stuff that I find interesting and maybe you won’t. That’s the joy of writing without a boss looking over my shoulder. After a lifetime of writing for a living, I treasure the freedom to say whatever I want.

I offer you some memories, many thoughts, stories, and pictures. The photographs are mine unless obviously otherwise or credited to someone else. If it’s a picture of me, it’s a good bet I didn’t take it. I also reblog postings that I think you will find interesting … or that I find interesting or funny or in some other way special.

Welcome, whoever you are, wherever you are.

So double check what you about page says because you never know, I may be stopping at your site tomorrow…

This has been a fun road trip and I can’t wait to see what day 7 brings.

Tammye Honey

Author: TammyeHoney

I am about Blogging various information. If you check, I have several sites. Everything from food to funny with a few product lines in between. I am a Daily Prompt Blogger and an A-Z prompt blogger as well. Thank you for checking out my site. I hope you enjoy. I started this for cooking and my corn allergy and then it grew...

7 thoughts on “Road Trip A-Z Challenge Day 6

  1. Some of those I just recently visited too! I have a silly question. How do you copy the entire post from the person’s blog you are visiting like that? I am computer novice too! It is a neat techique.

  2. Thanks for the shout out!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

