My Daily Prompt Blog

Where I do my Daily Prompts

Day 5 of Road Trip A-Z Challenge

6 Comments


Post A-to-Z Road Trip [2013]

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/2013/05/want-to-join-us-for-ultimate-road-trip.html

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/2012-to-z-challenge-sign-up-list.html

So here I am on day 5 of my journey.  Who will I explore today?  Perhaps I will find some exciting articles and possible great foods or jokes along the way.

best-moment-award-winner1 (1)

Perhaps there will be 15 Nominees to accept this award out there.

My first stop is http://annetteharris42.wordpress.com

About

I am a 43 yr old woman trying to find her way in life and often don’t know if I ever will! Read my ramblings get to know me. You will be amazed or not! Lol!

http://www.lhrich.com

Hello! Thanks for stopping by my blog 😀 I’m Leslie and my brain is where all these posts fall out of – for better or worse! I’m a video game geek, maker of crafts, sci-fi enthusiast, reader, writer, picture taker, believer in animal rights, and all around nut job (diagnostically speaking 😉

What I have here at For Therapy & Function is mostly an opinion blog. But not just mine! I completely welcome your thoughts too 😀 I don’t need you to agree with me – I just ask that you please be respectful in the debate to myself and other people in the comments section

 That said, this is also a personal blog. I talk a lot about my personal experiences, my mental health, my goals and my ideas. On another side I occasionally talk about what’s going on in the day to day – stuff about my family or pets.

 

http://doreenmcgettigan.com/

When Doreen’s brother was murdered, she was shattered.  She dove head first into working; writing and learning.  Anything to keep herself  from feeling or dealing with her loss and the complete unraveling of her family.   Doreen  was fortunate enough to come in contact with some very special people at the Network of Victim Assistance.  She joined a Homicide Survivors Group and then became active in the state of Pennsylvania’s largest and most comprehensive victim service organization, NOVA,  as an advocate, board member and speaker.  She has become a voice for those affected by violence and bullying.  She has also become a champion for the elderly; who sometimes have trouble admitting they have been victimized.

Doreen has written for several Philadelphia area newspapers and is a member of The Press Club, the Chamber of Commerce and several Writers Groups including “Hot Pens” in Newtown Square, Pa.

She met (online) and married the love of her life and soul mate, John.  It was John who insisted she finish her book.  The header on this website is the very beach in Strathmere, New Jersey where  at sunset, surrounded by their friends and families they were married.

Together, Doreen and John have 5 grown children  (2 more in heaven), and 11 grand children (their own little cult).  Doreen lives in Delaware County, Pa. with her husband, John,  2 yappy terriers and a homeless woman named Sophie.  Update: (After 2 years and 4 months we have found a home for Sophie.  She is receiving the care she needs.  John and I miss her; yet we are enjoying our (we) time.

 

http://silviatomasvillalobos.wordpress.com/

It all started with the endless winters in the Balkans.

Sometime in the middle of primary school, while in my native Romania, I began trudging through the snow, barely making it to the library. Electricity was sparse, and clouds chased away the sun at noon. Not much to do at home. The library managed to have power all day, served the best hot chocolate, and it housed collections of Eminescu, Arghezi, even some early Eliade. It also stored works by Dickens,  Hugo, and Dostoevsky, though not every librarian considered them age appropriate. A bountiful source of the finest stories.

It’s safe to say, it was when I sat in the back of the library, that I passed suddenly and passively into a state of mind similar to bliss. The reading paradise. I would have happily taken up residence in the sixteenth-century building, even tolerated the mice at night, if left alone with my books. 

The writing came later. I had never planned to be a writer, but the reading led to inspiration, and ideas willed the pen into my hand. A high school teacher liked my essay on Eminescu’s “Evening Star,” so I wrote another one, followed by a short story that would have given me no peace had it not found its way onto paper.

I moved to the U.S. in 1992 to finish my studies, and started writing in English, a beautiful challenge. The world of fiction writing continues to provide a great counterbalance to the legal research and document drafting I tackle for a paycheck in a law office.

Today, I live in sunny California where the reading and writing continues. Although far from the harsh winters of the Balkans, I sometimes miss the old library in Romania.

 

http://therandomthoughtsofchippy.blogspot.co.uk/

About Me

My Photo

I am an eclectic, introverted shopaholic with too many hobbies. I write… read… customise clothes… watch films, new and old… make greetings cards… cross-stitch… love vintage fashion, hair-styles and make-up… listen to music, again new and old… love shoes… drink lots of tea… and eat chocolate.

http://zoecottage.blogspot.com/

The Greek word Zoe means of the absolute fullness of life, both essential and ethical, which belongs to God, and through Him  – life real and genuine, a life active and vigorous, devoted to God, blessed, in the portion even in this world of those who put their trust in Christ, and to last for ever.

Zoe Cottage is the name of our new home, and after four years of blogging elsewhere I am starting fresh with a new look and a new name. Please feel free to join the conversation–it will be wide and varied!

 

http://travelingsuitcase.blogspot.com

ABOUT ME

My Photo

Happily married for lots of years to great guy, mother of one wonderful daughter. I have lots of interests and wished I had more time to explore them all.

http://ribbie.wordpress.com/

Who is Ribbie? Good question. Difficult to answer. One thing is clear, Ribbie defies definition. An artist, no. A poet, twice, as in two poems. A writer of note, not. A gambler, never. A fisherman of sorts, as a child. Never cared much for comic books, did Ribbie. Music lover, with musical genes and no gift. But what kind of music? Jazz – Miles, Coltrane, Herbie Hancock, Pat Metheny to name a few. Classical too. Beethoven, Bach, Chopin and others. Some Rock – old stuff, the Rolling Stones, Beatles, the Who, Led Zeppelin, old Genesis records, Pink Floyd, Yes, Jeff Beck, Joni Mitchell and Nick Drake. By these ancient references, it is not hard to guess Ribbie’s age.

A devoted husband and father, Ribbie delights in the simple pleasures of life – day trips with family just to get out, barbecues, birding, a stroll in the arboretum, making hillbilly chilly and chillin with Ella the cat. Reading is one of Ribbie’s passions. Ribbie reads voraciously. In fact, he reads 3 or 4 books at a time, for Ribbie can, despite evidence to the contrary, focus on one task and complete it in a timely fashion. He can. What is Ribbie currently reading you ask? Twilight of the Elites: America After Meritocracy by Chris Hayes; At the Tea Party edited by Laura Flanders;  and The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration by Isabel Wilkerson.

Speaking of books, there are two that have influenced Ribbie the most and inspired him to become a teacher: A People’s History of the United States, by Howard Zinn and Pedagogy of the Oppressed, by Paulo Freire. Ribbie teaches English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) at a Community College and directs a community based Adult Basic Education (ABE) program. An advocate for increased funding for ABE programs which include literacy, Pre-GED, GED, ESOL, college transitions, and Citizenship classes, Ribbie believes that all adults have a right to free basic education.

http://enchantedseashells.com/

Thank you for reading my blog! I’m originally from the mid-west but my family moved to the West Coast a long, long time ago and I went to high school and college out here. I’m a SoCal chicka! I’ve been married since 1994 to a tug boat captain who travels the world. Sometimes he’s here, sometimes he’s not. My proudest accomplishment is being the stay-at-home mom of a wonderful college graduate son. Yes, I am obnoxiously proud of my Angel Boy’s Ph.D. I have a background in education, marketing, advertising, and public relations. I’ve been in a few films, helped my surfer husband with a surf-related radio show, owned a couple of small businesses, and co-founded and co-directed a non-profit organization with my captain Right now,  I’m building acopyediting and proofreading career with diverse assignments ranging from neuroscience documents to grants for a theater group to ascientific paper originally written in German. I love seashells and rocks, gardening and baking, Hello Kitty and Chanel, and everything with sparkles and leopard print.

http://burningfireshutinmybones.wordpress.com/

It is my prayer that these flaming words will ignite a fire within the hearts of my readers, inspiring them, bringing them joy, and comforting their pain as they enter this safe haven in the midst of the fiery flames.

http://angloswiss-chronicles.com/

angloswiss

Originally a cockney from the East End of London. Arrived in Switzerland 46 years ago and due to meeting Mr. Swiss, I am still here. Mother of two sons, have been adopted by 3 cats. Worked 30 years as an export clerk for a Swiss machine tool company and am now retired. Like to go for walks with my camera and write blogs, flash fiction, poems to make life interesting. Speak fluent German/Swiss German, French, Italian and some Russian. Mother tongue: still cockney english.

 

I had noticed that the A-Z challenge blogs were mostly from Blogspot and not from Word Press so I changed it up today and went to my reader to find some inspiration for Mothers Day. This award was an inspiration to me to find blogs that I have followed and that have given me a shiny moment in my life.  I hope that it does the same for you.

Carry on the torch and find several blogs that inspire you and nominate them.

Tammye Honey.

Author: TammyeHoney

I am about Blogging various information. If you check, I have several sites. Everything from food to funny with a few product lines in between. I am a Daily Prompt Blogger and an A-Z prompt blogger as well. Thank you for checking out my site. I hope you enjoy. I started this for cooking and my corn allergy and then it grew...

6 thoughts on “Day 5 of Road Trip A-Z Challenge

  1. What great places to visit!

  2. Thank you for the trip and I see that you made a stop by me. I added the about page on a whim just getting started and all. I wished when you visited it I had more interesting facts about myself. Best moment award? Currently I am lost on that. I wanted to read your best moment. help me find out about this best moment post of yours. We almost ran out of gas on that trip it was a long one huh? lol! happy blogging

  3. Reblogged this on annetteharris42 and commented:
    I made the best moment ever award! Thank you for the nomination http://layedbacklife.com

Leave a Reply

