My Daily Prompt Blog

Where I do my Daily Prompts

Daily Prompt: No Nightmares Here Anymore

9 Comments


Daily Prompt: Nightmares

by michelle w. on February 19, 2013

Describe the last nightmare you remember having. What do you think it meant?

As a child and into my teens I can recall having nightmares on a regular basis.  It was simply my subconscious reliving in vivid details.

When I became married, we settled into a nice home near a fire station.  During one of the first few nights we were there, a fire had occurred during the night and the siren had gone off to alert the local firemen.  My new husband shook me as he said that I was standing on the bed crying and shouting that we needed to find the local air raid shelter.

When he woke me, he asked me why I was carrying on so in my sleep.  I could still hear the alarm and the memories of grade school and having to do the air raid shelter runs were very vivid in my mind.

For those of you who are really young, yes we had to rehearse these drills like a fire drill in school twice a week.  We went under the school below the basement into air raid shelters.

This was the early sixties in Detroit Michigan.  This was a prime target for bombing as was any large city with major industry.  The car industry would certainly be no exception.

That is the last time that I can remember having a nightmare.

I have always been a light sleeper and awake to the slightest of noise in the home.  The light sleep began with the pregnancy of my first daughter and has continued through the rest of my life.  When motherhood kicked in the sound sleep walked away.

Now I sleep with a mask on which blocks any light from the room and I have found that a do get a more tranquil sleep.  I just dream of how I am going to rearrange the rooms in the house.  I know what is on my subconscious mind lol.

Now I ask my readers the same question:  “What was your last nightmare?” and “What do you think it meant?

Here are what some other Daily Prompt Writers had to say on the matter:

  1. Daily Prompt: Nightmares | The Gozum Show
  2. Daily Prompt: Nightmares « cognitive reflection
  3. The world is infinitely stranger than anything the mind of man can invent… « Q the Adult
  4. Daily Prompt:Eaten By Lions « Natalie Elizabeth Beech
  5. Daily Prompt: Nightmares | My Overactive Dreams | Loading…
  6. Human rights abuses in mental health facilities « Mind Heart Journeys
 Sleep well my friend, clear your subconscious mind prior to going to bed…if you can or you might be entering “The Twilight Zone”
Tammye Honey

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: TammyeHoney

I am about Blogging various information. If you check, I have several sites. Everything from food to funny with a few product lines in between. I am a Daily Prompt Blogger and an A-Z prompt blogger as well. Thank you for checking out my site. I hope you enjoy. I started this for cooking and my corn allergy and then it grew...

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: No Nightmares Here Anymore

  1. I am also a bad sleeper and wake up for any little sound. Glad you are getting a more tranquil sleep now, Tammy.

  2. Pingback: The Story of a Recurring Nightmare | Beyond Beauty Tips

  3. Pingback: Steel Walls and Rivets « Cheri Speak

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Nightmares … what’s it got to do with a female horse? | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  5. Pingback: I Live In Oz, But Visit Kansas For My Dreams | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: DREAM ASYLUM ANALYSIS « hastywords

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Nightmares – Flash Fiction / Short Story / Poem – “The Ghost of Poe” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

