My Daily Prompt Blog

Where I do my Daily Prompts

Daily Prompt: The Clock Was Ticking

13 Comments


Daily Prompt: The Clock

by michelle w. on February 16, 2013

Write about anything you’d like. Somewhere in your post, include the sentence, “I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.”

It was six years ago now,yet it seems like just yesterday.  The phone call so early in the morning from my oldest daughter.  She said that she just wanted to know how things were going, but I could hear it in her frail voice.  Something was not right.  She was close to delivery date and was afraid.  I could tell.  I asked if she wanted me to come and she had said yes to my surprise.  This was my independent child who always wanted to do life on her own.  Then I knew, despite the weather, I had to go.

Of all the days, in snow to my waist, for my truck not to start.  I felt devastated.  I was sitting in the truck crying and praying.  My landlord came out and saw me to ask what was wrong.  I told him and he disappeared back into his side of the house as I went in to get warm.

He returned shortly to tell me that he had called his brother and asked if they would take me to Rochester, a 3 1/2 hour drive in good weather.  He said that he had explained the situation and that I should pack.  I hurried to pack a bag and sit to wait for what seemed to be an eternity.

“I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.” 

clock ticking

 

 

We had no time to spare.  If we were caught in the storm we would not make it.  If we did make it in time, would they make it back to the snow country or be caught some where in between and stranded.  It was a chance that they were willing to take for me and something that I have never forgotten.  An act of kindness that was above and beyond comprehension.

The journey took us a little over 4 hours.  When we arrived, they quickly said goodbye.  They had refused to take gas money.

I had slipped a twenty on the dashboard near the radio with a note that read “I can not repay your kindness, please take this for the gasoline and may God find a way to guide you home safely for the angels are with you to take you on your journey.  Forever Thank You”

As I settled into the house and checked on my daughter, I found her in her bed crying.  As she looked up, the tears became bigger.  “I prayed that you would come” is all that she said as we hugged tightly.  It had started to snow outside quite hard and we both began to pray for my friends safe return.

My son in law had gone to the hospital that morning to do his rounds and had not returned.  We sat waiting to see if he would be able to get home or if he would be stranded there.  He had called stating that an accident had came in while he was there and he had to do an emergency surgery and was not certain what time he would be back.  He was relieved that  I had made it.

I made the two of us a bite to eat, although anything that she ate did not seem to stay down.  We were timing her pains and praying.

My friends had called to say they were home.  They had taken an alternate route part way due to the New York State Thruway closing.  I was relieved.

For the second time that day “I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.”

clock ticking

 

 

Was it my daughter’s father and grandparents?  Had they made it before the roads had been closed?  Was it my son in-law returning home from work?

The contractions were ten minutes apart.  We still had time.  As long as her water did not break there was hope.

We listened for someone to enter, then heard voices outside.  It had been the neighbors next door coming home from work.

Each time I helped her into the bathroom, the pressure in her back increased.  The race against time had started.  The baby always wins in the end.

 

Check out the other thoughts on this:

  1. Daily Prompt: The Clock… digital awakenings | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34
  2. The Clock Test | The Chatter Blog
  3. Tick Tock. | Hope* the happy hugger
  4. The Counting… | Yeahthtsme
  5. Ulysse « Spunky Wayfarer
  6. Daily Prompt: The Clock « Completely Disappear
  7. The Unbearable Burden of Beauty | Rolbos ©
  8. Time To Rewrite (Short story) | The Jittery Goat
  9. Daily Prompt: The Clock « Mama Bear Musings
Author: Tammye Green

I am about Blogging various information. If you check, I have several sites. Everything from food to funny with a few product lines in between. I am a Daily Prompt Blogger and an A-Z prompt blogger as well. Thank you for checking out my site. I hope you enjoy. I started this for cooking and my corn allergy and then it grew...

13 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Clock Was Ticking

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clock | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife

  2. Pingback: Time To Rewrite (Short story) | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Dead lines | polysyllabic profundities

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clock is MAKING ME CRAZY « From the C-Sweet

  5. Pingback: In the afternoon « thelissachronicles

  6. Nice reading about you.

    Thanks. for visiting my blog Ajaytao2010@wordpress.com. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may definitely find something of your interest.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,524 other followers